Choosing the Genre

5579705261_94e2aa6c9b_o

“Write what you know” is definitely not my motto. I’m a med student, but I don’t see myself writing about the ER or making a gray’s-anatomy-like novel. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with such novels. It’s just not my cup of tea.

I’ve always had a thing for fantasy. From Charmed to The Vampire Diaries, I can never get enough of witches, werewolves, and most importantly vampires ❤

A relationship that’s frowned-upon, or even forbidden? Puh-lease, I love that. My favorite novel is Thorn Birds for crying out loud! (For those of you who have yet to read it -and you really should- the guy is a priest)

So, what do I do? I wrote a vampire teacher/student romance. And guess what? I enjoyed the ride.

I believe that as long as you’re passionate about what you do, the mass’ approval is not a must. Yeah, of course, getting positive reviews regarding your harlequin is nice. But, if you want to write about a psychopath whose very name gives the chills, you should write about that, no ifs no buts 😉

And you, what makes your heart skip a beat?

La_Rose_Semsem

5 thoughts on “Choosing the Genre

  1. As a writer of medieval fantasy, I think the most aggravating thing I keep being told is that the genre is ‘overdone’ or ‘outdated’ and I am told that a stupid amount of times (by people who apparently aren’t aware Game of Thrones is quite a popular thing). It’s always been what I love to write though. What I can’t stop writing about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

